Roller skate buying guide
Best Roller Skates for Kids: What Coaches Recommend
The 3 named coaches and skate schools we found who give buying advice for children (Skip Clinton of DevaSkation, Alex Shulgan of InMove Skates and the Skatefresh school in London) agree on three things: buy a skate that fits now, ideally one that adjusts over several sizes rather than one bought big; make sure it has a brake the child can reach; and put on a helmet and pads from the first session. Two more sources (a Swiss Federal Office of Sport teaching sheet and Exeter Roller Derby’s junior pack) back the pads and the brake, for five in all. None of them is a titled star skater, and two of the three are shops that sell what they recommend: we say so on every point.
Gear on this page: ten products are named further down — four adjustable children’s skates (Roller Derby Gumdrop, Candi GRL Lucy, Rollerblade Microblade, K2 Marlee), Triple Eight Lil 8 Kids Helmet, Triple Eight Certified Sweatsaver Helmet, Triple Eight Saver Series Pad Set (Medium and Junior), JBM Adult & Kids knee, elbow and wrist set, Triple Eight Wristsaver. They are optional, the page works without them, and the links to them are Amazon affiliate links. None of the children’s skate listings we read states a toe stop or a heel brake: check on the product page.
Amazon prices were read on the listing on 7 October 2026, for the size and colour Amazon shows by default; other sizes and colours can cost more or less. Price and availability are set by Amazon and can change.
Who we are quoting, and why it matters
- Skip Clinton — owner of DevaSkation, a US skate shop, which presents him as a three-time world skating champion. We could not confirm that title from an independent source (search of 7 October 2026). The articles are written by Carly Quick with his input. Commercial interest: the shop sells the products it recommends.
- Alex Shulgan — describes himself as a pro freestyle slalom skater since 2006 and a skating instructor; co-founder of InMove Skates, a family shop open since 2016. His competition record was not independently confirmed. Commercial interest: his guide links to products the shop sells.
- Skatefresh — a London skate school run by Asha Kirkby, listed as a registered skate school by the Inline Certification Program (checked 7 October 2026), teaching in schools for over ten years. Its FAQ does not name its author. Commercial interest: none found; the school lists brands without shop links.
- Supporting sources: Gabi Schibler, a PE teacher writing for the Swiss Federal Office of Sport (an institutional source, not a known competitive skater), and Exeter Roller Derby’s junior starter pack (a club document with no named author or date).
What top skaters and coaches recommend
Features first, no brand: none of the coaches recommends a specific children’s skate for a feature it alone has. Skatefresh lists brands with no specific reason, so we leave them out.
Size: fit now, adjust later — do not buy big
- Skip Clinton: at most one size up to allow for growth, never more, because a skate that is too big hurts feet and ankles; no extra pair of socks to fill the gap; competition skates fitted from the start. His words: “not more than one size bigger” (DevaSkation, 5 Jan 2022, updated 3 Oct 2024).
- Alex Shulgan: measure both feet in millimetres (trace the foot on paper, heel to longest toe) and compare with the chart of that exact model, not with the child’s age. Many children’s models adjust over 3 or 4 sizes (InMove, 3 May 2023, updated 9 Aug 2026).
- Skatefresh: for children, skates with an adjustable boot that covers several sizes (Skatefresh FAQ, updated 4 Oct 2026).
- Nuance: Clinton tolerates one size of margin; Shulgan wants the exact measurement and lets the adjustable boot provide the margin.
Brake: one the child can reach, and learn to stop first
- Skatefresh: on inline skates, always a heel brake — “always buy skates with a heel brake”; on quads, toe stops are fine (Skatefresh FAQ).
- Shulgan puts an accessible brake among his priorities, with a supportive boot and cuff and laces plus a buckle. Clinton suggests upgraded toe stops for better stopping.
- Gabi Schibler (Swiss Federal Office of Sport): braking and stopping come before everything else (mobilesport.ch, Jan-Feb 2021, PDF in French).
Wheels: softer for small children and rough ground
- Clinton: softer wheels for little ones, fewer jolts and more grip. Shulgan: pick hardness by surface — soft for grip, hard for durability; indoor and outdoor wheels differ. Exeter Roller Derby: hard for speed, soft for grip on a slippery floor (Exeter Roller Derby junior pack, undated).
- No source gives a hardness number for children.
Quad or inline: they disagree
- Clinton: quads first for young beginners, for an easier balance point; inline needs more ankle strength and suits older children.
- Skatefresh accepts both (heel brake on inline, toe stops on quads). Schibler only covers inline. Shulgan covers both without choosing.
- For the general question, see quad vs inline: which to buy first.
Protective gear from the first session
- All five sources ask for it. Skatefresh: a helmet is compulsory (a bike helmet is acceptable), plus at least wrist guards and knee pads, or no lesson. Clinton: helmet always, knee and elbow pads strongly advised, wrist guards and a mouthguard too. Shulgan: helmet and pads, above all while learning.
- Schibler on fit: the helmet sits two fingers above the root of the nose with straps done up tight; wrist guards with the plate on the palm side; knee and elbow pads, all well fitted.
- Exeter Roller Derby (juniors who play derby): a helmet to WFTDA/MRDA standards and a mouldable mouthguard are compulsory.
Age: from toddler to six, depending on who you ask
- Clinton: from the time a child walks, ideally 3 to 5 with instruction (DevaSkation kids FAQ, 22 Sep 2020, updated 20 Dec 2020). Schibler: basic inline learning from 4. Skatefresh: private lessons from 6, 4 on request.
What to avoid
- Clinton advises against department-store skates for regular use. Exeter Roller Derby asks juniors for derby or speed skates, not “jam” or shoe-style skates, with ankle support that does not lock the ankle. Skatefresh suggests schools hire before they buy (Skatefresh schools).
What we could not find
- No children’s equipment advice from World Skate, USA Roller Sports, the French federation (FFRS) or the Junior Roller Derby Association; no titled pro skater talking about buying skates for children; no coach video we could read. This page should be reinforced by the next research round.
From the skater behind this site
- Size: follow the brand’s own chart and advice; a skate size is not a shoe size and varies a lot between makers. Measure in millimetres. See the size calculator.
- Tight means the fastenings, not the size: laces, straps and buckle done up firmly.
- He has not bought children’s skates himself; the children-specific advice above is the coaches’.
The comparison
Three adjustable children’s skates read on Amazon on 7 October 2026, then the protective gear the coaches ask for. Look for an adjustable boot, a brake the child can reach and softer wheels if they skate outside. None of the three skate listings states a toe stop, a heel brake or a wheel hardness, so the brake is the thing to check before buying.
| Model | Price seen (date, where) | Who it is for | Recommended features it meets | Weak point |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Triple Eight Certified Sweatsaver Helmet | Amazon.com $54.99 (B077VYDVDY), read 2026-10-07 | Older children whose head fits its smallest size, XS/S (51-54 cm) | Helmet, asked for by all five sources | No size below 51 cm: measure the head and check the chart |
| Triple Eight Saver Series Pad Set | Amazon.com $41.00 (B002WTT2J2, Medium), read 2026-10-07 | Wrist, knee and elbow in one purchase; the brand chart lists a Junior size (hand 6.0-7.0 in) | Wrist guards and knee pads (Skatefresh minimum), elbow pads (Clinton, Schibler) | Price read for Medium only; one size for all three pieces |
| JBM Adult & Kids knee, elbow and wrist set | Amazon.com $22.28 (B00GG7AYLG), read 2026-10-07 | Lowest price for a full pad set | The three pads | Sized by elastic straps, no measurement chart in the listing; no coach names this brand |
| Triple Eight Wristsaver | Amazon.com $26.00 (B0000DZIJ6), read 2026-10-07 | Wrist guards alone | Wrist guards (Skatefresh minimum; Schibler: plate on the palm side) | Wrist only; the smallest size is Junior ($26.90 on the size selector, read 2026-10-07) |
| Roller Derby Gumdrop Kids’ Adjustable Quad Skate | Amazon.com $38.99 (B0D2S2FCX5, Medium 3-6, Mint), read 2026-10-07 | Young child starting on quads | Adjusts over 4 sizes with a lever (adjustable boot: Shulgan, Skatefresh); padded boot; 54 mm polyurethane wheels | Plastic shell boot; wheel hardness, toe stop and weight limit not stated on the listing |
| Candi GRL Lucy Adjustable Girls Roller Skates | Amazon.com $53.27 (B09SK1YTC4, Medium 3-6, Watermelon), read 2026-10-07 | Child on quads who wants a higher boot | Adjusts over 4 sizes with the “EZ Twist” knob (Small 12J-2 or Medium 3-6); high padded boot; 54 x 32 mm urethane wheels | Wheel hardness, toe stop and weight limit not stated on the listing |
| Rollerblade Microblade Kid’s Adjustable Fitness Inline Skate | Amazon.com $119.00 (B0DV9XNGF2, size 5-8, Black/Red), read 2026-10-07 | Older child on inline (Clinton: inline suits older children) | Adjusts over 4 sizes with a button; buckle, 45° strap and laces (Shulgan: laces plus a buckle); 72 mm 80A wheels | Brake not stated on the listing (Skatefresh: always a heel brake on inline) — check; most expensive skate here |
| K2 Marlee Girls Adjustable Inline Skates | Amazon.com $89.95 (B09GX89T5T, size 1-5, Purple_Coral; also $89.95 for size 11-2, B09GXBRK1C), read 2026-10-07 | Child on inline (Clinton: inline suits older children) | Adjusts over 5 sizes (listing) | Brake not checked on the listing; sold by a third-party seller |
| Triple Eight Lil 8 Kids Helmet | Amazon.com $55.99 (B00MA7XUO4, one size, Black Matte), read 2026-10-07; a lower price was shown for Prime members only | Small children, “toddler to 5 years” per the listing | Helmet, asked for by all five sources; Fit Dial; CPSC bike (age 5 and up), ASTM F1447 and F1492 on the listing | One size, 46-52 cm: measure the head first |
| Triple Eight Saver Series Pad Set, Junior | Amazon.com $39.00 (B002WTNDVK, Junior), read 2026-10-07 | The same set in its Junior size | Wrist guards and knee pads (Skatefresh minimum), elbow pads (Clinton, Schibler) | One size for all three pieces |
Our pick
An adjustable skate measured in millimetres against the model’s own chart, with a brake the child can reach, softer wheels for outside, and a helmet, wrist guards and knee pads before the first roll. Quad or inline is the coaches’ open question.
Parent FAQ
Should I buy my child's roller skates a size bigger?
Skip Clinton says one size up at most, never more, and no extra socks to fill the space. Alex Shulgan prefers to measure the foot in millimetres against the model's chart and let an adjustable skate, which often covers 3 or 4 sizes, give room to grow. Skatefresh also recommends an adjustable boot. See should you size up roller skates.
Are quad or inline skates better for a child?
The coaches disagree. Skip Clinton suggests quads for young beginners, for an easier balance point, and inline for older children with more ankle strength. Skatefresh accepts both, Alex Shulgan covers both without choosing, and the Swiss Federal Office of Sport sheet only teaches inline.
What age can a child start roller skating?
Skip Clinton says from walking age, ideally 3 to 5 with instruction; the Swiss Federal Office of Sport sheet starts inline basics at 4; Skatefresh gives private lessons from 6, or 4 on request.
What protective gear does a child need?
A helmet always; Skatefresh also requires at least wrist guards and knee pads, and Skip Clinton strongly advises elbow pads too. The Swiss sheet asks for the helmet two fingers above the root of the nose with tight straps. See the protective gear checklist.
Do kids' skates need a brake?
Skatefresh says always buy inline skates with a heel brake; toe stops are fine on quads. Alex Shulgan lists an accessible brake among his priorities, and the Swiss sheet teaches braking and stopping before anything else. See heel brake, toe stop or jam plugs.
How this page was compiled: 5 sources (3 named coaches and skate schools — Skip Clinton, Alex Shulgan, Skatefresh — plus the Swiss Federal Office of Sport and Exeter Roller Derby), drawn from our skater compilation of 7 October 2026. Each claim links to its source. Full compilation and method: the skater gear compilation.
Read next: protective gear that actually fits · quad vs inline: which to buy first · should you size up · skate brakes · outdoor wheels: what to buy · size calculator · wheel hardness tool · how to size roller skates · how to stop · how to fall safely
Keep going: this is one of the buying guides that sit next to the full Roller Skating for Beginners guide — sizing, gear, stopping, and where to skate, in one page. Free, no sign-up, nothing to buy.